Friday, May 4, 2012



This is a brief description of the main components and functions of a human being, which can be helpful to have a deeper understanding about your nature.


a.  PHYSICAL VITAL: 5 PRANAS (apana, vyana, udana, samana, vyana) + 5 SUBPRANAS (Naga, Kurma, Krikara, Devadatta, Dhananjaya). The physical vital enable all functions of the body.
The prana flows through the 72.000 nadis (etheric channels). Important channels are the twelve acupuncture meridians with many acupuncture points. 
Most important are the nadis ida, pigala and brahmanadi (susumna) in which the sexual energy and the shakti-kundalini arise. There are also many energy centers (chakras), the 7 main centers are located along the spinal column. 

b. PSYCHIC VITAL: Mental vital – emotional vital - central vital - lower vital (according  to Sri Aurobindo). The psychic prana enables the function of all psychic functions like thinking and feeling.

*** The vital in its impure state creates all negative formations in every human being such as likes dislikes, desires, repulsion, attraction, lower emotions of fear, anger, greed,  etc. The vital formations are expressed in the mind level as compulsive thoughts and at the heart level as the negative emotions viz. fear, anger, greed, depression, fear etc. (as heart here I'm referring to the outer heart which is not really a center. The inner heart is the real one and its connected with the soul or psyching being as Sri Aurobindo call it.)
 Real emotions of love, peace joy, devotion, compassion belong to inner heart. Some other teachers refer to the inner heart as the higher emotional center.

3. MIND:    
  • THE INSTINCTIVE MIND which regulates the pranas and instinctive bodily fuctions
  • THE MOTOR MIND regulates all body movements except those which belong to the instinctive mind.
  • The four ASPECTS of mind:  AHAMKARA – BUDDHI – MANAS – CHITTA      
     a.  AHAMKARA: The sense of individuality;
--- The gross ‘Ego’  the rajasic and tamasic ego (the desire soul): the sense “the body is me”
--- The subtle ‘Ego’ the sattvic one (the liberated soul): A very subtle sense of individuality to enable a sage to function in this physical plane.

b. MANAS (the outer mind) sensory, emotional, physical, mechanical, sensual, imaginative, active (formative will).

c. BUDDHI:  
A. INTELLECT, when related with the external world. Intellect knows, cognizes, thinks, reflects, considers the pros and cons (for and against; to do or not to do; to do this or to do that) ratiocinates, compares, contrasts, deduces, infers, decides, determines, concludes, judges.  
B.INTELLIGENCE, when is functioning inwardly:  discrimination between real and unreal, perception of truth, intuition.
The intellect polluted by rajas, tamas and the egoic energies and qualities loses its clarity and sharpness; becomes dull, inattentive, distracted and loses its capacity to do all above functions properly. Thus instead of being a servant of consciousness becomes a slave of the ego.

d. CHITA: The general mental field; memory, subconsciousness, latent tendencies, impressions (samskaras and vasanas) and creativity.

4. CAUSAL BODY: veil of ignorance, seeds of samskaras and vasanas, 3 modes of happiness (priya- moda- pramoda).

5. THE TRUE SELF:  Being or Existence - Consciousness or awareness - Bliss  (satchitananda).

Peace, love, harmony

No comments:

Post a Comment